Skip to content

Week One Huffing for Stuffing Training

October 4, 2010

Beginner Runner

 

This program is for individuals who have not run at all, not run for a long time, run just a little, or run at a beginner level and would like to start out slow. If you are a consistent runner or if you find this program to not be challenging enough for you, try timing your runs and work on setting a faster pace for yourself!

Monday

            Today is your first day of this eight week program! Congratulations! You may be feeling a bit nervous and maybe even scared but don’t be. This will be a great experience for you! You will be running and walking tomorrow for an hour, so today I don’t want you to do any strenuous activity that will cause soreness. I would like you to get outside in your running shoes and alternate walking and jogging for about 20 minutes, if you have a gym membership and would rather do this on a treadmill that works too. Your goal is to keep your heart rate up and to just get moving! At the end of your run/walk I want you to stretch for about 10 minutes holding your stretches for 30 seconds.

Tuesday

            Group run tonight for paid participants in the Ridge running group. See you tonight at 6 pm! It’s supposed to be about 60 degrees with a chance of rain so come prepared! Those of you who are not in the running group I would like you to get outside or use a treadmill you may have at home. Your goal is to start out with a 10 minute walking warm-up. You are just trying to get your muscles warm for our workout so walk fast enough to increase your body temperature. After the ten minutes warm up, you will walk one minute jog one minute for about 35 minutes. After you are finished alternating walking and jogging, I want you to cool down for about 10 minutes. Your ten minute cool down is a slower pace. You’re trying to get your heart rate back down. Now stretch for 10 minutes holding your stretches for about 30 seconds.

Wednesday

            You may be sore from yesterday so, I want you to take it easier today. The weather is supposed to be sunny with a high of 72 degrees! I would like you to do 30 minutes of exercise. This can be on an elliptical, going for a walk, a bike ride, or a hike. You are just focusing on getting yourself moving to prevent further soreness. At the end of your workout remember to stretch for ten minutes holding each stretch for 30 seconds!

Thursday

            Yesterday was a break day for your body. Today is supposed to be partly cloudy with a high of 70 degrees.  Today I want you to do some sort of strength training mixed in with cardio and resistance.  For the first 10 minutes of your workout I want you to walk to warm up. Next I want you to do an interval workout alternating 2 minutes of walking with 2 minutes of jogging for 20 minutes total. After you are done I want you to cool down for 5 minutes. When you get back home or if you are at the gym I want you to find a place on a wall where you can do some wall sits alternating with pushups. You will start with a wall sit then do one set of pushups and keep alternating until you have completed all four sets! Remember to stretch when your workout is completed!

Proper wall sit form (Do four wall sits holding the first two for 30 seconds and the last two for 45 seconds) 

 

Proper push up form (you will do 15 pushups each set for a total of 4 sets)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Friday

            Today is another light day. The weather is supposed to be rainy with a high of 60 degrees so it may be harder for you to get outside. If you can I want you to get out and be active for 30 minutes. You may choose to ride a bike, walk, hike or go to the gym and use the elliptical. Whatever it is that you choose, I want you to focus on getting your heart rate up and sweating a little. Start your activity with a 10 minutes warm up and end it with a 5 minute cool down!

Saturday

            You have almost made it through your first week of exercise! Today will be sunny with a high of 66 degrees! Get outside and move! I want you to do another interval training day. For the first 10 minutes of your workout I want you to walk to warm up. Next I want you to do an interval workout alternating 2 minutes of walking with 2 minutes of jogging for 20 minutes total. I really want you to push your self today. You have tomorrow completely off so work hard today! After you are done I want you to cool down for 5 minutes. At the end of your workout I would like you to work on some core strengthening.

Proper form for oblique crunch (Do two sets of 20 alternating with the basic crunch)

 

Proper form for Basic Crunch (do 2 sets of 15)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sunday

            You worked hard this week! Take the day off!!!!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Roxene permalink
    October 8, 2010 3:43 pm

    Krista-

    Did you post observations about running forms from the other night I can’t find? Also, tips?
    And another “beginner” question…in terms of treadmill, what is best mph for beginners-or is it with what we are comfortable with? I am doing 3.9 mph walking & 4.9 mph running….not sure if that is where I should be or not for training? Also, before our run the other night I did 4 miles elliptical & stairs…I would guess that I should not do anything except for run those days, am I correct?

  2. Tammy permalink
    October 8, 2010 4:31 pm

    I also was wondering about your observations of form for running through class; in addition, wondering about proper breathing pattern and pace.

    My biggest question/concern is proper stretching – could you include your suggested best running stretches on the blog, or at class? Specifically, I have been having issues with my shins – best stretches, strengthening for that area?

    Thanks!

  3. Kris Jones permalink
    October 3, 2011 1:25 pm

    Hi Krista, believe it or not I have been doing the workouts and I’m actually starting to enjoy it! Who would have thought!! Missed this section last week as I only went to the blog, so will work on the wall squats, sit-ups and push-ups (ugggh) too. Did I miss the new workout schedule? Will be going out of town Wednesday but will be in class tomorrow and will take my workout plan with. Have other questions that I hope to ask tomorrow night. THANKS!!!

  4. Krista permalink
    October 3, 2011 3:23 pm

    Hi Chris, those were last years postings so we are not doing the squats or pushups. The blog posts are the very first thing on the blog! This week it should say week two! I should delete last years postings! 🙂 I am so glad you have been doing well! See you tomorow

  5. Kris Jones permalink
    October 3, 2011 3:57 pm

    Well, again, you are too kind! I haven’t been doing well maybe according to everyone else’s standards, but just getting up off the couch and moving a bit does feel good (about the 4th day I could feel my thighs again without so much burn!!) Ok, so does 20 minutes of “laying down the law” with my number 4 count as cardio?! Just kidding, I am getting up now and shutting down the computer to go move. See you tomorrow!

    kris

  6. October 6, 2011 12:21 am

    Hello! I was checking on you! Where were you yesterday?

  7. Kris Jones permalink
    October 19, 2011 2:28 pm

    Hi, life in general always seems to zap my good intentions. My hubby and I share a car and we have been having car troubles so that’s where that is at. Although I haven’t been to classes, I have been trying on my own. I am still only able to run 3 minutes straight without my shins killing me. Don’t know that I will be able to run this year’s race, but I will walk it anyway. Just really disappointed in life and myself! Monday, maybe on a high note, at my oncologist visit, I had 100 % oxygen sat. Don’t really know what that means, but she seemed impressed, so maybe huffing and puffing has helped in ways I can’t really see!

    • October 19, 2011 5:48 pm

      Hey Kris, I am glad to hear about you 100% O2 saturation!!! That is some great news. I have noticed you have not been to class and thats ok. I think you should know that recovery from cancer is a LONG process and that you can only do what feels good for your body. I think you should not give up on Huffing for Stuffing. There is nothing wrong with walking and jogging the race. You should stick this out and try to let your goal be to just finish the 3 miles!!! You beat cancer Kris, I am convinced you can do this!

  8. Kris Jones permalink
    October 19, 2011 9:49 pm

    Hey thanks!! Yeah, I keep trying to stay focused and positive, knowing full well from before I signed up that I would not be able to run the whole thing. I wasn’t expecting to, but I was hoping to be a bit further along than I am. My brother in law and several church friends are runners, so they are keeping me positive to. Maybe it takes me 12 weeks to actually run or longer, but I will get there, just cuz I am stubborn that way! Thanks for thinking of me.

Leave a Reply

