Skip to content

Week 8!!! Race Week

November 22, 2010

We made it to week eight! I hope you all are excited to race. I am very impressed with every individual. You all worked so hard to get where you are and I am very proud of your acomplishments. Thank you for taking my class, I hope you have enjoyed it as much as I have and hopefully, I will be seeing you all around.  For those of you running a different 5k race on Thursday I wish you the best of luck!

Monday

Today is supposed to be snowing with a high of 13 degrees.  It is going to be a cold one so hopefully you all bundle up! Today will be a easier day considering what we are going to do tomorow. I want you to just get 30 minutes of cardio , any cardio of your choice!  

Tuesday

Today will be 14 degrees and snowy. Everyone wanted to run the actual race course once before meeting on Thursday. Tonight we will meet at the Museum of the Rockies to run the course. I would like to change the time because I feel it is too dark and too cold by 6 in the evening. I would like to start at 5:30 pm tonight! We will run the entire length of the course.

Wednesday

Today will be partly cloudy and 6 degrees. Today is a day off for you. The best thing you could do is stretch and relax today. You have a big day tomorow!

Thursday

Today is race day! It is supposed to be about 14 degrees and partly cloudy. The 5k starts at 9:15 am so come prepared to run! I would advise you to be well hydrated and have had a light breakfast at least an hour or two before! Also I want you to be nice and warmed up before the race.  I would like us all to meet together so that I can see everyone for the race! Thanks again for all your hard work and I hope you get out of the race as much as you have put in and more!!! Happy Thanksgiving.

CONGRADULATIONS YOU DID IT!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Brenda Karp permalink
    November 22, 2010 3:04 pm

    What is your opinion on adding “tracks” to the bottom of my shoes? Would it totally mess up my form? Do they really help?

    Oh and…. THANK YOU Krista for all of the work you have put into our training. No matter what the outcome, I know that I’ve been trained well! 🙂

  2. Rachel May permalink
    November 22, 2010 3:39 pm

    I saw it was supposed to -1 as the high tomorrow and with the windchill 15 to 20 below zero. I am not sure if I will make the practice if it is that cold. I will try and be there though!! I am very excitecd for the race and thank you for all that you have done for us!!!

  3. Brenda Karp permalink
    November 22, 2010 4:43 pm

    I am actually going to run the course tonight with a co-worker so I won’t be at the group run Tuesday. See ya’ll Thursday!!!! 🙂

  4. Tammy permalink
    November 22, 2010 4:55 pm

    I also heard the same as Rachel about weather tomorrow – only even as much as 25 below with wind chill – wind chill advisories. I will be there if it’s still a go – perhaps the weather will not get as ugly as they are warning. However, an idea would be possibly to have our class go pick up our race packets together and check out the expo instead? just a thought! I have also been wondering about the yak trax – I have not tried running in mine, but assume they will change the feel or gait or something – but maybe worth that sacrifice to keep from slipping and sliding or possibly falling? thoughts? Also want to reiterate the earlier comments about our appreciation of your class and your efforts – you’ve been a great cheerleader as well! Thank you.

  5. Roxene permalink
    November 22, 2010 5:23 pm

    Ditto, Krista….I feel as if I have learned a lot from your class…Thanks for the effforts & training….Lots of concern about the weather tomorrow night-especially as it will be dark when/if we do course…with predicted windchills of -25 & blowing snow-concern is about cars as well as traction….I know my ribs cannot take another fall right now…but will be there if it’s a go…..confirm if you can….Thanks again! Also, packet pickup that night as a group would be fun…

  6. Amy Baker permalink
    November 22, 2010 6:32 pm

    Thanks, Krista, for all you have done to get us ready and support us through this process! Even thru injuries, I have learned a lot about the training and where/how to back off of training as well. Sure looks cold. I am up for the packet pickup as a group, too, if that is what is happening. With walking the race, I don’t know if I will do a practice prior on the course as I think that it would be too cold for everyone to wait around for me.

  7. Heidi McFarland permalink
    November 22, 2010 7:02 pm

    Ditto on all of the above – thanks for the encouragement but would love to run in warmer weather. I may run at the gym tonight and get three nights rest (from running) instead two before the big race day. Good luck everyone – keep us posted on Tuesday nights training. Thanks.

  8. Rachel May permalink
    November 22, 2010 10:38 pm

    I went and picked up my packet this morning. The race shirts are really cute. I will be there if it is on too, unless it really is that cold then I am going to bail. I don’t want to get sick before Thursday. So if I don’t see all of you again, it was fun running with all of you each week and will see you thursday!

  9. trish permalink
    December 1, 2010 4:59 pm

    hi guys, I’m sorry the weather was so bad in Bozeman, it wasn’t a nice day in Dallas, but it was much better than what you guys had. we had at least 35,000 people running, once they said “go” it took 12 mins until I crossed the START line! it was crazy. I didn’t run the whole thing, did a combination of running and walking and thats ok. thanks so much Krista for the training program. I was pleasantly surprised to find running more enjoyable than I thought I would:)

Leave a Reply

